The Bronze Mine, also known as the Live Oak Mine, was a lead-silver mine that also contained some tungsten and fluorite. The vein is in a contact zone on the eastern side of the New York Mountains between the Goodsprings dolomite and a quartz monzonite intrusion. The mine was first worked in 1912, yielding 24 oz of silver and 204 lb of lead. It was reopened in 1950 with a new mill constructed near Barnwell townsite.
This is a nice little hike through a woody canyon to an old cabin and trestle. It is an overlooked gem.